This site is intended for healthcare professionals only

Professor Kenneth Dickstein

University of Bergen, Stavanger University Hospital

Stavanger, Norway


Professor Kenneth Dickstein was born in Philadelphia and completed undergraduate education at the University of Pennsylvania. He has medical degrees from the University of London and the Royal College of Surgeons (1977). He was a research fellow at Harvard Medical School from 1988 until 1990 and completed his PhD in Exercise Physiology at the University of Bergen in 1992. Professor Dickstein is in charge of the Coronary Care Unit at Stavanger University Hospital, is a full Professor of Medicine at the University of Bergen and is a coordinator for the medical student teaching programme at Stavanger University Hospital.

His primary focus is clinical research in heart failure, and he is Director of a research programme at Stavanger Health Research Foundation. Professor Dickstein is Past-President of the Heart Failure Association of the European Society of Cardiology (ESC). He was Chairman of the Task Forces for both the ESC 2008 Guidelines on Heart Failure and the 2010 Update of ESC guidelines on device therapy and has been a councillor of the ESC Board and was the founder of the ESC website He is an active member of numerous editorial boards and steering committees and an Associate Editor of the European Journal of Heart Failure. Professor Dickstein has published over 300 scientific papers and held over 300 invited lectures at international venues. He resides with his wife and two sons on the west coast of Norway and spends his summers fly fishing.


Prof. Dickstein has received honoraria and/or research support from the following device companies: Medtronic, Boston Scientific St. Jude, Biotronik, and Sorin; and the following pharmaceutical companies: Merck, Novartis, Amgen, Boehringer Ingelheim, Astra Zeneca, Pfizer, Bayer, GSK, Roche, Sanofi, Abbott, Otsuka, Leo, Servier, and Bristol Myers Squibb.

He is currently a member of the following Steering Committees: ATMOSPHERE (Novartis), ELIXA (Sanofi) and CRT Survey II (ESC). He is also a DSMB member of ADAPT (Medtronic) and RELAX (Novartis).